Health and safety awards winners announced

Winners of WorkSafe’s Return to Work Achievement Award for 2018 have been announced.

The Awards held at Crown Palladium in Melbourne celebrate the achievements of injured workers who have overcome the barriers to return to work and individuals and organisations that have contributed to workplace health and safety and helped others return to work.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Clare Amies said the winners and finalists demonstrated a strong commitment in Victorian workplaces to reduce injuries and help injured workers return to work.

“These organisations and individuals have gone to incredible lengths to make their workplaces safer and healthier, to assist injured workers, or to overcome their own personal obstacles to return work after injury,” said Ms. Amies.

“Each one has set a good example of innovative thinking and dedication to help solve problems and overcome challenges.

“Every finalist should be proud of the wonderful work they have done to inspire others to make safety a priority in every workplace in Victoria.”

2018 WorkSafe Awards winners:

Leading return to work practice by an employer – Mercy health (Richmond)

Return to work coordinator excellence – Stacey Guy, City of Ballarat

Worker return to work achievement award – Chris Williams (Shepparton)

Best solution to a manual handling issue – The Reece Group – Prime Refrigeration Plant (Truganina)

Best solution to a specific workplace health and safety issue – McConnell Dowell Constructors (Australia) Pty Ltd (Port Melbourne)

Health and safety invention of the year – Ecogroup Pty Ltd (Dandenong South)

Health and safety representative of the year – Daniel Gili, Diamond Valley Pork Ltd (Lavertion North)

OHS Achievement Award – St John of God Berwick Hospital

Commitment to workplace health and wellbeing – Darebin City Council

The post Health and safety awards winners announced appeared first on OHS News.

OHS News

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply